What’s Your Excuse – I have none!

There has been an image floating around on Facebook and now in a lot of media outlets.  It was a picture from Maria Kang of her and her three boys with the line of “What’s Your Excuse” at the top (image below).  Now, there are some that say she is a bully or fat-shaming, while others find  this image highly motivational.  Let me take a minute and share with you my stance on this image.

What's Your Excuse

Image causing all the issues

I can understand how others would find this image damaging to the way that women might look at themselves since the line of “What’s your excuse” might be perceived as Maria being critical of other women and expecting them to be like her and if they aren’t then they less of a women because of this.  I get it.  I completely understand how someone might feel that way.

But, while some find this image degrading, I have found that the line causing all the controversy has actually made me stop and take a look at my life in a different perspective and things that I want to accomplish, along with my relationship with God.

Instead of seeing this image as negative, I find that her question actually challenges me.  I have been working out and losing weight (65lbs so far) and there are times when it’s hard and I want to give up. BUT—I don’t simply because I can not find a reason that is good enough to make me stop.  Sure, I have trouble finding the time to workout, but I find it.  Yes, there are times when I want that piece of cake (and I do give in occasionally), but I find the will power to make the healthy decision.   I like wine….ok enough said there because when I want a glass of wine I have one…which is only occasionally.  Hey, I don’t want to be a fitness competitor…I just want to be healthy and in shape.

The bigger issue is this image didn’t just resonate with me on a health and fitness level.  It hit home in more ways than I could have imagined.  There are things that I want to accomplish in my life.  I love photography and I want to get back to taking pictures.  I want to expand that business and have wonderful ideas in mind. So….what’s my excuse for not making those things a reality?

-BUT-

The biggest way this image effected me was with my walk with God.  I want to spend time with Him everyday and have a wonderful, amazing, loving personal relationship with Him…so what’s stopping me?  I can’t use the excuse of “Oh, I just don’t have the time” since I am a bible study group leader for GMG.  So, again I had to stop and ask myself…what’s your excuse?  Guess what……I couldn’t find a valid excuse for not spending time with my creator.  There is NO excuse that would ever be good enough for Him.  NONE!!!!

If you look at the question that Maria poses for you and feel that it has no relevance to your life, that’s fine….You have every right to have your own opinion, but…for me…I feel this was God’s way of saying:

“Hey, You! Yes you!  Wake up and spend some time with me.  Oh, and while you are at it…take a look at your life and throw away any excuse you might ever come up with, because they will never be good enough for not living the life I have meant for you.”

Because no excuse will ever be good enough for you to NOT live the life you are meant to have.

God Bless and have a wonderful Friday

Bethany

 

*Please remember that this is my personal opinion and that you might disagree.  That’s completely fine, but if you feel the need to comment (which I would love), make sure you are respectful. *

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Excuse – I have none!

    • I know that I could come up with a million excuses, but yet none of them are even remotely good enough. It was motivating to me as well.

      I just feel bad for the ones that took this image and had a negative reaction towards it. I wonder what makes them feel so bad about themselves, that a picture will bring them down. We should all know our own value and not let anything degrade that value.

Have Your Say

